Back to Top

Bayonne school election could be a surprise

Although the Bayonne Board of Education election has two incumbents running in a race for three seats, the race may be a tight one.

Incumbents Christopher Munoz and Mikel Lawandy should have the inside track to retain their seats in what is seen as a relatively weak field of candidates.

Munoz ran for state assembly last June in the Democratic primary, which could make him the target of revenge by the Hudson County Democratic Organization that supported his opponents.

Meanwhile much of Lawandy's accomplishments on the board are largely invisible to the general public, especially his financial detective work that allowed the board to uncover significant shortages. Lawandy is the last board member to be appointed by the mayor prior to the district reverting to an elected board system. Bayonne returned to an elected format in 2014.

The decision by Theodore Garelick not to seek reelection is also playing into the election chances of sleeper candidates.

Garelick, of course, was closely tied with former Superintendent of Schools, Dr. Patricia McGeehan, whose contract was not renewed.

Other candidates include a number of prominent citizens, but few with the name recognition of candidates who have run in the last few election cycles.

These include Michael Alonso, Sharma Montgomery, Daniel Acosta, Gene Perry, Dorothy Patterson, John Cupo, Maria Valado, and Anthony D’Amico.

Patterson, who is the pastor of a church in Bayonne, could also surprise some people since she has a strong congregation.

Committee to Elect Christopher Munoz for BBOED
Powered by - Political Campaign Websites